Royal worcester backstamps dating
Fifteen porcelain painters left the Severn Street factory on Friday 29 September 2006, together with 100 other workers.The last trading date for Royal Worcester was 14 June 2009.It was also pressured by competition from inexpensive Chinese export porcelain, and from Thomas Turner’s Caughley (pronounced "Calf-ley") Factory.Martin Barr joined the firm as a partner in 1792; porcelains of this period are often identified by an incised capital "B" and, later, by more elaborate printed and impressed marks.Dr Wall secured the sum of £4500 from the partners to establish the factory, known then as "The Worcester Tonquin Manufactory"; the original partnership deeds are still housed in the Museum of Worcester Porcelain.In 1783, the factory was purchased by Thomas Flight—the former London sales agent for the concern—for £3,000.He let his two sons run the concern, with John Flight taking the lead role till his death in 1791.
Dr John Wall, a physician, and William Davis, an apothecary, developed a unique method for producing porcelain and, in 1751, persuaded a group of 13 businessmen to invest in a new factory at Warmstry House, Worcester, England, on the banks of the River Severn.
and due to heavy competition from overseas, the production was switched to factories in Stoke and abroad.
100 staff were made redundant in 2003 and another 100 went in 2005.
Artists and designers who worked for the factory included Thomas Baxter, William Billingsley, John Stinton, David Bates, James Hadley, Christopher Dresser.
Charles Baldwin In the 20th century Royal Worcester's most popular pattern has been "Evesham Gold", first offered in 1961, depicting the autumnal fruits of the Vale of Evesham with fine gold banding on an "oven to table" body.
The Museum houses the world’s largest collection of Worcester porcelain.